Home » Social Media » This Post Cannot Be Reblogged on Tumblr | Solution

This Post Cannot Be Reblogged on Tumblr | Solution

This Post Cannot Be Reblogged

When you are using Tumblr you might come across this message saying ” This post cannot be reblogged”. It can be annoying. But in this article, I would like to touch on this topic and talk about fixes. This is not any kind of bug but a setting in Tumblr.

Tumblr is a microblogging website founded in 2007 and now owned by Automattic. A place for users to share media with others online. Users can share any type of media such as images, audio, or video.  You can also reblog other user’s content which is called reblogging. 


It is a type of social media website where users can interact with one another and follow others. Well, some content cannot be reblogged due to restrictions set up by the blog owner.

This Post Cannot Be Reblogged, Why?

Post Can't Be Reblogged

When you are trying to reblog some content you get the message “This post cannot be reblogged”.  Because unfortunately, the blog administrator has disabled the reblog feature from their posts. Due to whatever reason.  


Reblogging is not to be confused with reposting. Reposting is taking the original source material and posting it on your blog. This is just not the best way to share something you like on Tumblr. Many users may not like this at all. Reblogging is a safe method because it gives credit to the original uploader.

What happens after your post is reblogged?

When people reblog your posts then it will be displayed on their blog timeline. Their followers or whoever visits their blog can see it. Your blog name will also be displayed along with it. If you want your blog to be popular then you want more people to reblog your stuff.

All the popular blog gets thousands of reblogs every day. It is a free way of advertising your product or services. If you want lots of followers and page views then I suggest you should not remove the reblog feature. However, If you want your blog to be private then you can hide it.


What happens after hiding reblog?

Once you have removed the reblog button. Then viewers cannot share or reblog your content. It has its own advantages and disadvantages. If you are preventing your content to be reblogged then you are losing the free advertisement of your blog.

But on the other hand, you will have more page traffic for your blog because your content is unique. Your posts will only be displayed on your blog timeline and only your blog followers see it. It is good for blogs that create original content or copyrighted material.

Also, Read – How to message someone on Youtube 

How can you hide the reblog feature?

If you yourself own a Tumblr blog and want to how to hide the reblog functionality. Then you can follow these steps to do so.

  1. Make sure to have a backup of your theme before making any changes
  2. Go to the Customize
  3. Now in the  theme section
  4. Look for Custom HTML
  5. Search for all the reblog tags 
  6. And delete them manually.
  7. Now save the changes.
  8. This will hide the reblog feature on your theme.

Tumblr themes are very flexible you can design them however you want. You can enable or disable lots of features from the advanced section of the settings. It gives you lots of control over personalizing your blog for example hiding follow buttons. If you have expertise in HTML/CSS then you can do lots of cool stuff with the themes.

How do you reblog a post on Tumblr?

If you are new to Tumblr then you struggling with how to reblog. Then I have shared three methods of how you can reblog posts. You can use any method from below they are quite similar.

Follow these steps to reblog a post:

Method 1
  1. You need to log in to your account
  2. Find the post you would like to repost
  3. Go to the lower right corner of the pst
  4. You will see the reblog button( Rectangle with two arrows)
  5. Click it and it will be displayed on your timeline.
Method 2
  1. Follow the two steps of method 1
  2. On the top right corner of the post’s permalink page
  3. You will see a reblog button 
  4. Click it 
Method 3

If somehow you cannot see the reblog button or the button doesn’t work then there is also a shortcut to reblog. For that go to the post’s page and press ALT+R and then the post will be reblogged and will display in the timeline instantly. Just refresh your blog and see it.

How do you reblog on Tumblr with a picture?

You can also reblog any post with images, GIFs, and videos. For doing that you need to click on reblog and check for the area after the post where it says the caption. You will see an image or album icon in the right corner.

Click on the icon and select the picture you want from the gallery window to attach and reblog it. You will see the reblog with your image attached to it.

Also, Read – How to Monetize Facebook Page with these 8 ways

How do I delete a reblog?

Deleting a reblog is the same as deleting a post. Just go to the reblog post you want to delete. You will find three parallel dots at the bottom right of the post. After clicking on it there will be a prompt where you will find the delete option. Just click on it and it will delete the reblogged content.

However, it will important to know that deleting a post will not delete all the reblogs of that post. All those reblogs should be manually deleted by the admin of the blogs or whoever reblogged them.

Final thoughts

I am sure I have answered everything about this topic that you need to know. However, if you have some more questions drop them below in the comments. Finally, I would like to add do not randomly go on reblogging post. Anything you reblog should comply with the Tumlrs latest policies. Otherwise, there can be repercussions.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *